FIG Council

Volunteering for the Future


The Council is elected by the General Assembly. The Council consists of the President of FIG and four Vice Presidents. The President and two Vice Presidents are elected at the General Assembly during the Congress year and two remaining Vice Presidents at the General Assembly two years after the Congress. The Presidents are coming from different countries throughout the world. In addition commission chairs appoint their representative to the Council.


Prof Dr Rudolf Staiger (2019-2022), Germany

Vice Presidents

Mr Mikael Lilje (2017-2020), Sweden
Dr Orhan Ercan (2017-2020), Turkey
Dr Diane Dumashie (2019-2022), United Kingdom
Prof Dr Jixian Zhang (2019-2022), China PR

ACCO Representative in the Council

Ms Winnie Shiu, Hong Kong SAR, China, Chair, FIG Commission 1


From left: Vice President Prof. Dr. Jixian Zhang, China, Vice President Diane Dumashie, United Kingdom, President Prof. Dr. Rudolf Staiger, Germany, Vice President Orhan Ercan, Turkey and Vice President Mikael Lilje, Sweden,